Arts are Essential… S.L.A.M.!

Last weekend, at the Maine Art Education Association (MAEA) Spring Conference, Art & Community, The Power of Us, S.L.A.M.! held a workshop for teachers so they could learn what about S.L.A.M.!, how it might benefit their students and how to start a S.L.A.M.! chapter.  We also unveiled  S.L.A.M.!’s new website!

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 6.09.41 PM
 

click on this image to visit our website

 

One of the people joining me in this presentation was High School junior, Daley Pedersen.  This is her reflection on the first year of S.L.A.M.!

SLAM! has been my first real step into endless possibility and opportunity. Through all the work we have done and all the places we have been, especially presenting what we’ve achieved at MAEA and seeing it all combined, I’ve gained skills and confidence that are definitely going to help me succeed in life. I now know that I have the ability and drive to speak up for what I believe in. I feel that many other students could also greatly benefit from these skills were the same opportunities available.
In regards to starting SLAM! chapters in other schools, I completely think it’s necessary. SLAM! has been so amazing and such a learning experience for me, and fellow SLAM! members agree with me. It’s been a vital aspect of learning how to advocate for my beliefs. Students that have never spoken up before would have a chance to with this group. I genuinely believe that many kids across the state, the country, the world, are just waiting for the chance to say something. SLAM! can help them find their voices.

Leave a Reply

